Main Content

Board of Health Names New Member Three Others Reappointed to Serve

Published on Tuesday, August 13, 2019

The Mississippi State Board of Health has been joined by one new member and three others have been reappointed to serve.  Jim Perry of Jackson was sworn in as the newest member of the Mississippi State Board of Health at the Board’s quarterly meeting. Perry was appointed to the Board by Governor Phil Bryant for a six-year term.

Perry is a managing director at Wells Fargo Securities where he is head of the Southern Region and the co-head of Structured Finance for the firm’s public finance department.  Perry’s public service experience includes serving as Deputy Chief of Staff and Policy Director for Governor Haley Barbour and as Legislative Director for U.S. Congressman Roger Wicker. He received a bachelor’s degree in Economics and Government from the University of Virginia.

Additional Board actions made by Gov. Bryant were the reappointments of Luke Lampton, M.D., FAAFP, of Magnolia; Elaine Anthony, Ph.D., of Madison; and Bobby Moody of Louisville.

Lampton was first appointed to the Board in 2006 and has since served in such positions as Chairman of the Board, Chairman of the Ad Hoc Task Force on Hospital Certificate of Need (CON), and Chairman of the Ad Hoc Task Force on Nephrology CON.

"I am honored to serve another term helping this essential state agency achieve its important work. The coming years will be challenging for our state and nation, and we must maintain the high quality of our department in order to face those serious public health challenges. I look forward to working with my fellow board members to impact positively the health of all Mississippians,” said Lampton.

Anthony has been a Board member since 2007 and has served on various Board committees such as Audit, Legislative, Primary Prevention and Health Education, the Ad Hoc Task Force on Hospital CON, and the Ad Hoc Task Force on Nephrology CON.

Moody, a former State Legislator, was first appointed to the Board in 2014 and has served on both the Audit and Legislative committees.

(Source: Mississippi Department of Health)