OMPW

News Stories

Main Content

Recent News Stories from the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce

Mississippians now have permanent access to telehealth

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Telemedicine is now a permanent fixture of healthcare in Mississippi, as Senate Bill 2738 has been signed into law. Because of insurance restrictions, emergency orders were issued during the height of the pandemic to allow telemedicine across Mississippi. Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney says those orders ended months ago, but this law will allow telehealth to resume. Read More

Hyde-Smith backs bipartisan bill to improve palliative and hospice care

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.) announced her support for legislation intended to increase, improve, and sustain the palliative and hospice care workforce in order to meet growing demand for this care. Read More

State Board of Health names Dr. Daniel P. Edney as new State Health Officer

Today the Mississippi State Board of Health announced that Daniel P. Edney, MD, FACP, FASAM, will be appointed the new State Health Officer of the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH), effective August 1, 2022.

Published on Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Mississippi Scholarship Program Targets Rural Physician Shortage

Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program tackles the state's shortage of medical providers, one rural doctor at a time. Read more here

Published on Thursday, April 14, 2022

Lawmakers aim for more emergency rooms in rural Mississippi

Mississippi lawmakers have approved a bill aimed at bolstering health care in rural Mississippi.

Published on Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Mississippi Medical Students Participate in 2022 MATCH Ceremonies

Last week, medical students at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC) and William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine (WCUCOM) discovered which residency training programs they will attend as they begin their careers as new physicians.

Published on Wednesday, March 23, 2022

State Health Officer to Resign in July

Published on Tuesday, March 8, 2022

COVID-19 Testing Health Centers Update

Published on Thursday, March 3, 2022

Mississippi awarded nearly 32 million dollars for broadband infrastructure expansion

Published on Tuesday, March 1, 2022

‘Life-changing’ scholarships awarded to future doctors committed to rural health care

Published on Monday, February 21, 2022

State Board of Education Awards UMMC Grant to Create Telehealth System within K-12 Schools

Published on Friday, February 18, 2022

Mississippi becomes the 37th state to legalize medical marijuana

Published on Thursday, February 3, 2022

HHS announces 100 million in funding to support primary care workforce in underserved communities

Published on Thursday, October 14, 2021

New Partnership to reopen Quitman Community Hospital after being closed for nearly 5 years

Published on Friday, September 10, 2021

Delta Health System to receive health literacy grant to tackle COVID-19 Spread

Published on Wednesday, August 11, 2021

UMMC to require COVID-19 vaccinations for employees and students

Published on Friday, July 16, 2021

MS small rural hospitals to receive over 12-million for COVID response efforts

Published on Wednesday, July 14, 2021

New hospital to open in Senatobia, Mississippi this month

Published on Monday, July 12, 2021

Physician Work Hours Significantly Declined Since Start of COVID-19

Published on Thursday, June 24, 2021

Barrasso, Cortez Masto Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Expand Access to Physician Training

Published on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Bipartisan Bill Introduced to Address Physician Shortage in Rural and Underserved Areas

Published on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Rush Health Systems to Join Ochsner Health

Published on Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Mississippi State Hospital Launches New Psychiatry Residency Program

Published on Friday, June 18, 2021

Family Medicine Residency Program Accredited at Memorial Hospital Gulfport

Published on Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Internal Medicine Residency Program Accredited at Baptist Memorial Hospital

Published on Friday, January 29, 2021